Author Topic: How would you rank the extra stages in terms of difficulty?  (Read 5213 times)

How would you rank the extra stages in terms of difficulty?
« on: October 23, 2023, 12:18:43 PM »
(+Phantasm for Touhou 7)
I'm not good at touhou yet but I've managed to get 48% progression on Touhou 8's extra stage and thought about which are the easiest and hardest Extra Stages. I tried to search about it but in comparison to info about which GAME is the easiest and hardest I didn't manage to find anything helpful. I've heard that Suwako is pretty easy compared to other ones but other than that I don't know much. So, how would you rank Extra/Phantasm Stages in Touhou games?

Re: How would you rank the extra stages in terms of difficulty?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2023, 05:27:31 PM »
Scroll down to the Extra part of the first post.

Personally, my ranking would be:

7 Ex < 7 Ph < 14 < 8 < 10 < 13 < 6 < 11 < 12

Only managed to beat 7's Extra but easily got close in Phantasm. Did grind 8 a bit and got close too. Got to somewhere midway in 10 and 13 after minimal practice. In 11 and 12 never even got to the boss (though 11 looks fun enough to practice). Haven't played 6 much but got quite deep into the fight. Did get close to the end in 14 in just a few tries. Didn't play others much.

moons1de_

• moons1de_?
  • moons1de_
    • YouTube
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2023, 11:00:49 PM »
You assume I've been able to reach an extra stage...

In all seriousness though, just from watching most extra stages and basing it off of whether I would be able to do it, I would say SA's or UFO's extra stages.

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2023, 12:15:19 AM »
16 for sure; it's the only one that feels close to Normal in difficulty, while most Extras are between Normal and Hard.

My ranking of the ones I've completed: 16 < 10 < 8 < 17 < 7 < 18.

I've got pretty far in 6 and 7Ph, so I'd put those as the next two.

I haven't unlocked 11 (SA) Ex, and I haven't played 12, 13, 14 or 15 at all.